S&P 500 7,631.47 -0.71%Nasdaq 26,099.77 -1.03%Dow 52,766.88 -0.79%Russell 2000 2,920.13 -1.23%as of 2026-09-01 close
The SmallCap Signal
Small & mid-cap intelligence for the next market cycle
Movers

Alumis Loses Half Its Market Value After Lupus Trial Misses Overall, Hits in Interferon-High Subgroup

The 408-patient LUMUS study of envudeucitinib failed its primary BICLA endpoint across the whole enrolled population, and Alumis shares fell by more than half in Sept. 1 trading. The company says the interferon-high patients who did respond were unexpectedly under-represented in the trial, a defence that shifts the burden onto a Phase 3 that has not yet been designed.
Illustrative photograph: a printed financial chart and market data.

Alumis Inc. (Nasdaq: ALMS) told investors on Sept. 1 that the Phase 2b LUMUS trial of its oral TYK2 inhibitor envudeucitinib did not meet its primary endpoint in systemic lupus erythematosus across the study's overall population. The market's answer was immediate and unambiguous. RTTNews reported the shares at $10.12, down 53.57%, during the Sept. 1 session, on volume of 8.53 million shares against an average of roughly 1.29 million. That is an intraday figure rather than a stated closing level: RTTNews did not describe it as a close, and other outlets reporting the same session put the fall at other levels above 50%.

The trial, described in the company's Sept. 1 release, enrolled 408 participants and ran a 48-week treatment period in Part A. Its primary measure was BICLA, the British Isles Lupus Assessment Group-based Composite Lupus Assessment, a composite responder index widely used in registrational lupus programmes. Three doses of envudeucitinib were tested against placebo. Neither the primary endpoint nor the key secondary endpoints were met in the population as enrolled.

What Alumis is asking investors to weigh instead is a prespecified subgroup. In patients with a high interferon gene signature, or IFNGS-high, the company said robust clinical responses were observed, including on the primary BICLA endpoint and on the key secondary efficacy endpoints: CLASI-50, a 50% improvement on the Cutaneous Lupus Erythematosus Disease Area and Severity Index; SRI-4, the SLE Responder Index 4; and LLDAS, the Lupus Low Disease Activity State. The release did not state that statistical significance was formally established in the subgroup.

The under-representation argument

The company's explanation for the overall miss is that IFNGS-high patients, whom it describes as typically responding more favourably and as making up the majority of moderate-to-severe lupus cases, were unexpectedly under-represented among those enrolled. That is a testable claim rather than a rhetorical one, but it is also a claim that can only be settled by a subsequent trial. The Sept. 1 release did not disclose how many patients fell into the IFNGS-high group, what proportion of the total that represented, or what proportion the company had planned for.

Nor did the release publish response rates. No BICLA percentages for any dose arm or for placebo appear in the topline announcement, in the overall population or in the subgroup, and no p-values were given. The company characterised the subgroup effect qualitatively. Until the underlying numbers are presented — at a medical meeting or in a regulatory filing — outside readers cannot independently judge either the size of the subgroup benefit or how much of it could be explained by the smaller sample any subgroup necessarily contains.

Chief Medical Officer Jörn Drappa framed the result this way in the release: "Although envudeucitinib did not meet its primary objective in the overall trial population, the magnitude of effect observed in the prespecified IFNGS-high subgroup is highly compelling in a disease with no targeted oral therapies currently available." Alumis said it plans to engage regulators to discuss Phase 3 development for envudeucitinib. No timing for that engagement, and no Phase 3 start date, was given.

What is left standing

The safety read was uneventful. Across the 48-week treatment period, the company reported that envudeucitinib was generally well tolerated with no new safety signals observed, and described robust dose-dependent interferon-pathway target engagement, with maximal suppression observed at the highest dose, 40 mg twice daily. A clean safety profile matters more than usual here, because the asset's nearer-term value does not depend on lupus at all.

That nearer-term value sits in psoriasis. Chief Executive Martin Babler said in the same release that the company remains on track to file a new drug application for envudeucitinib in moderate-to-severe plaque psoriasis in the fourth quarter of this year. A dermatology filing is a materially different proposition from a lupus registrational programme: the endpoint is better established, the trial is shorter, and the commercial path is crowded but proven. The Sept. 1 selloff priced out a lupus option; it did not, on the company's account, disturb the psoriasis timeline.

The corporate backdrop is worth recalling. Envudeucitinib is the molecule previously identified as ESK-001, and Alumis reached its current shape through the all-stock merger with ACELYRIN that closed on May 21, 2025, at an exchange ratio of 0.4814 Alumis shares for each ACELYRIN share. At the time, Babler said the transaction gave the combined company a cash runway extending into 2027, alongside a pipeline that also includes A-005 for neuroinflammatory and neurodegenerative disease and the anti-IGF-1 receptor antibody lonigutamab in thyroid eye disease.

Context for the size of the move: RTTNews put Alumis's Sept. 1 trading range at $9.59 to $11.06 after an open at $9.90, against a 52-week range of $3.76 to $31.35 on Nasdaq. The broader small-cap tape was soft but nowhere near that: the Russell 2000 closed Sept. 1 at 2,920.13, down 1.23%. A single-day halving on a subgroup-only result is the market saying it will not underwrite a Phase 3 hypothesis it has been given no numbers for.

The next disclosure that matters is the full LUMUS dataset — response rates, subgroup size, confidence intervals — and whatever the FDA says about whether an IFNGS-high enrichment strategy is registrable. Both are pending. This report describes the company's topline announcement and the market's reaction to it, and is not a recommendation with respect to the securities discussed.

This article is for general information only and is not investment advice. Figures are as reported by the cited sources at time of writing.

Related coverage